Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Andrea tutors in Richmond, VA

Andrea R.

Private tutor in Richmond, VA

Andrea R.528

28 reviews

Education

James Madison University - Bachelors, Arabic and English Literature

Experience

I graduated from James Madison University with majors in Arabic and English Literature. It was during college that I began tutoring students across a wide range of ages and subject areas. I assisted individual students with essay writing and tutored students in Arabic Grammar. After graduation, I went to work in a refugee center, helping children of immigrants acclimate and assisting them with adjustment to American school curriculum. I have also worked as an ESL instructor, teaching groups of students. This broad-based experience in different academic settings inspired me to expand my perspective and the approaches I employ in working with students, so that I am able to facilitate understanding and clear communication. I have discovered that a multi-faceted approach that is tailored to each individual student's needs, interests, and abilities is more effective than a one-size-fits-all plan. In particular, I have learned that games and humor motivate learning in areas students might otherwise not enjoy or find engaging. Though I work with students in many subjects, I most enjoy subjects in the realm of language and literature. I have traveled abroad extensively and enjoy immersing in and learning about cultures around the world. I also enjoy painting, making music, drawing, dancing, and hiking.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

40 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Painting, SCUBA diving, camping and hiking, , traveling, playing music, astronomy, photography

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!