Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Hilary tutors in Richmond, VA

Hilary R.

Private tutor in Richmond, VA

Education

College of William & Mary - BA, English; Government (double major) , University of Virginia - M.Ed., Education (Curriculum & Instruction)

Experience

I am a tutor in Richmond, Virginia. I attended the College of William & Mary and the University of Virginia, where I earned a master's degree.I have considerable experience as a tutor, and have worked with students both in small groups and individually to develop writing, reading, and studying skills. In my graduate education, I learned to work with a variety of students and to apply the latest, research-based practices to teaching.I help students of all ages, including early childhood, undergraduates, and pre-service teachers at the graduate level. My ability to relate to students allows them to be comfortable addressing the academic challenges that are preventing them from achieving their potential. Additionally, I am proficient at helping my students comprehend why they are having difficulty in a certain area by analyzing their current performance. Once these areas are identified, I am able to develop personalized approaches that help my students improve. I am very familiar with the current research on literacy instruction as a large percentage of my graduate studies included language skills and reading development.I tutor students in a number of subjects, including reading, writing, essays, phonics, literature, English, study skills and organization, civics, social sciences, social studies, government, and math. In addition, I am also able to help students prepare for AP exams, the SAT, and the GRE.In my free time, I enjoy reading, writing, dancing, movies, music, and hiking.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Reading, writing, dancing, movies, music, hiking and dancing.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!